Dual Booting Mac OS X with Win 8 *Mac Noob*

This is a discussion on Dual Booting Mac OS X with Win 8 *Mac Noob* within the Apple Discussions forums, part of the Apple Forums category; Hello, I'm looking to dual boot Mac OS X with Windows 8. I've never used a MAC before but I'm really interested in checking it ...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By JezzerP

Thread: Dual Booting Mac OS X with Win 8 *Mac Noob*

Member #

Dual Booting Mac OS X with Win 8 *Mac Noob*

Hello,

I'm looking to dual boot Mac OS X with Windows 8. I've never used a MAC before but I'm really interested in checking it out.

Correct me if I'm wrong but here's what I'll be trying to do:

- Create a new partition in Windows 8 to install MAC OS X on (not sure about the format though)
    - Purchase MAC OS X from Amazon (is this the right one?)
    - Use Windows 8's boot loader to choose between the installations (it worked fine with Ubuntu dual-booting)
    - Explore the Mac OS X realm

Is my hardware compatible? Here's a copy of my CPU-Z hardware list

List Summary:
    CPU: Intel i7 920
    RAM: 24GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
    Graphics: XFX 6850 1GB DDR5
    HDD: WD 1TB

What tips would you offer to a new Mac user?

Please don't turn this thread into a Win/Mac fight. They're both good. Otherwise, they wouldn't exist.

2. Ads

Super Moderator
    Member #
    Liked
    135 times
    No, installing OSX on standard PC hardware is not as straightforward as you might think. Although the hardware you have listed would be compatible with OSX, the most important thing is the motherboard. Can I suggest you take a look at these Hackintosh links in the first instance and then see if it's something you would like to tackle:

OSx86
    tonymacx86 - Home
    'Deep Thought' - Mac Mini Late 2018- macOS Catalina (10.15.6)
    'Marvin' - Mac Mini Late 2014 - macOS Catalina (10.15.6)
    'Orac' - MacBook Pro 13" Mid 2012 - macOS Catalina (10.15.6)

iPhone 11 - iOS 13.6
    iPad Pro 12.9" - iOS 13.6

Member #