Macbook purchase and questions on user experience.

This is a discussion on Macbook purchase and questions on user experience. within the Apple Purchasing forums, part of the Apple Forums category; Hello, this is my first time joining an Apple forum. I'm a student studying diploma in computer science, and by next year, I would be ...

Member #

Talking Macbook purchase and questions on user experience.

Hello, this is my first time joining an Apple forum. I'm a student studying diploma in computer science, and by next year, I would be taking a degree in software engineering. For last semester, I ran into a problem, when I took up a subject that involves developing apps for iPhone. I use a windows laptop, so its hard for me to do my assignments as I have to use the sluggish iMac in the computer lab. I plan to buy a Macbook so I can learn objective C in the future and develop more apps for iPhone.

I've never owned an Apple product, and have little experience with them. And furthermore, I'm a Windows and an Android user throughout my entire life. So this is going to be my first Apple product purchase and I'm really not sure which Macbook should I get.

I've done a bit of research and I found this 13 inch Macbook Pro's specs being most suitable for my budget :

2.4GHz dual-core Intel Core i5
    Turbo Boost up to 2.9GHz
    8GB 1600MHz memory
    256GB PCIe-based flash storage1
    Intel Iris Graphics
    Built-in battery (9 hours)

I have a few questions to ask you guys who are developers or programming students.

1. What do you guys think about the 13 inch retina screen? Is it comfortable for your programming needs? (Especially developing iPhone apps on Xcode)