What to buy Apple Macbook air or Apple Macbook pro??

This is a discussion on What to buy Apple Macbook air or Apple Macbook pro?? within the Apple Purchasing forums, part of the Apple Forums category; Hi, Firstly, I'm a bit of a computer tech novice... especially with apple! I just wondered what people suggest purchasing between the Macbook air 13 ...

Member #

What to buy Apple Macbook air or Apple Macbook pro??

Hi,

Firstly, I'm a bit of a computer tech novice... especially with apple!

I just wondered what people suggest purchasing between the Macbook air 13 inch or the 13 inch pro? I understand that the air has a flashdrive memory whereas the pro a RAM, therefore is the air technically quicker than the pro? I also like how light the air is. I am a student and would be using this laptop for studies but not much else other than surfing the web, watching some TV or possibly editing photo's on photoshop - just day to day tasks but it will be used quite often (for studying obviously ;))

I was always under the impression that the pro is better (mainly because it costs more) but is this the case? Especially in light of the fact that you can get flash memory with the air and only RAM with the reasonably priced pro? The only difference I can really see between the 2 specs dual core-processor being higher in the pro - what does this mean? Also, teh superdrive. This is quite a big issue for me, even though I don't think I will be using CD roms or watching DVDs but I would like to have the option. Is there external superdrives that can are compatible and are reasonably proced/ easy to carry and use?

Thanks in advance for all your help!

2. Ads

Super Moderator
    Member #
    Liked
    134 times