My Music (7.04 GB, 846 files, 135 folders) not in iTunes, but on iPad?

This is a discussion on My Music (7.04 GB, 846 files, 135 folders) not in iTunes, but on iPad? within the iPad forums, part of the iPod, iPhone, iPad Forum category; I am new to Appleforums, my problem relates to my iPad 2 and also iTunes on my laptop, so please forgive me if I have ...

Member #

My Music (7.04 GB, 846 files, 135 folders) not in iTunes, but on iPad?

I am new to Appleforums, my problem relates to my iPad 2 and also iTunes on my laptop, so please forgive me if I have posted this in the incorrect Forum. My problems all started as a result of trying to upgrade my iPad 2 to iOS5, and as advised, before doing that I was trying to back everything up first.
    Whilst doing this I found that I could not sync everything to my laptop, because it started running out of memory, I tried to free memory by deleting some stuff, but it was not enough. So I thought Iíll transfer, > My Music and iTunes to an external hard drive. This did not work, and seemed to cause problems, and at one point I thought that Iíd lost all my music. I have now found that it is not lost, but on my laptop, all in My Music Ė in a folder > Music > in iTunes Media > in iTunes > in My Music (7.04 GB, 846 files, 135 folders), but when I go to iTunes it only has 14 songs (116.7MB) showing in it? I have uninstalled/re-installed iTunes, etc as on Removing and Reinstalling iTunes, QuickTime, and other software components for Windows XP, which I thought may help, but nothing has changed. I canít find where, on my laptop, iTunes keeps filed the few music files that it is showing, i.e. the 14 songs, if I could find them then I presume I could copy - My Music (7.04 GB, 846 files , 135 folders) into it?