Can't Update Firmware on Early 2011 MBP

This is a discussion on Can't Update Firmware on Early 2011 MBP within the MacBook Pro forums, part of the Macbook Forum category; I haven't been able to update firmware on my laptop. It will download and attempt, but when the computer restarts, it restarts over and over ...

Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    3761

    Can't Update Firmware on Early 2011 MBP

    I haven't been able to update firmware on my laptop. It will download and attempt, but when the computer restarts, it restarts over and over and over again on its own until I hard power down. Then when it restarts, it starts up like normal but doesn't install the firmware. I had installed Kingston memory at one point and when I presented this issue to the Genius bar, they kept it a few days and tested it with "known working ram" and they were able to update the last firmware revision. So I ditched the Kingston and put in Centon, which claims full compatibility. Now, firmware 2.7 is giving me the same issue. Is it really the RAM? Anyone else who used 3rd party memory having this same problem?

    Help!!

  2. Ads

    Posts
    Many

  3. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    York, UK
    Posts
    2,354
    Member #
    3040
    Liked
    134 times
    I do run with 3rd party RAM but haven't tried any firmware updates recently. The only advice with firmware updates I would give, is leave well alone unless the update fixes an issue you are ACTUALLY experiencing. All updates from apple will state exactly what they are fixing, so if you don't need it, don't install it.


    _______________________

    JezzerP :)
    'Deep Thought' - Mac Mini Late 2018- macOS Mojave (10.14.5)
    'Marvin' - Mac Mini Late 2014 - macOS Mojave (10.14.5)
    'Orac' - MacBook Pro 13" Mid 2012 - macOS Mojave (10.14.5)

    iPhone 6S - iOS 12.3.1
    iPad Pro 12.9" - iOS 12.3.1

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    3761
    That's a good point- HOWEVER- the fact that I technically should be able to do this with no issue but can't concerns me. Obviously, it would be a waste of money to buy and test a bunch of different modules to find out if it's my memory that's that problem and I no longer have the original modules. Just looking to see if anyone else has had this issue.

Remove Ads

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Apple Releases MacBook Pro EFI Firmware Update 2.8
    By sparkyscott21 in forum MacBook Pro
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-29-2012, 04:49 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-24-2012, 12:01 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-28-2011, 03:36 PM
  4. The early history of the Mac by those who were there
    By sparkyscott21 in forum Apple Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-16-2011, 07:46 PM

Contact Us
Back to top