G5 PPC help needed - UK user!

This is a discussion on G5 PPC help needed - UK user! within the Uk Dedicated Apple forum forums, part of the Regional Apple Forums category; Hi guys - newbie here and as I'm so new that I can't find a help forum for the PPCs that actually has technical questions ...

Member #

G5 PPC help needed - UK user!

Hi guys - newbie here and as I'm so new that I can't find a help forum for the PPCs that actually has technical questions (other than how many you own and what your favourite is etc etc) can I ask a techie question?
    I've just bought an iMac G5 Thunderbolt which is a lovely machine and as a result want to get my G5 quad-core PPC prepared for sale, which means removing all my details accounts and documents. This is a PPC I bought less than two months ago to replace my quicksilver PPC, but there were issues with it that made me buy the new iMac.
    There are two hard drives, one for the OS and one for backup.
    Backup is an 80Gb drive using the factory cradle and connections inside the G5. For some reason it never performed well and although it never lost any data the icons were always jumbled about on startup and had to be cleaned up. I'm now trying to erase all data using the 7-times erase and on commencement it tells me that it will take 4 hours; after about twenty minutes it tells me that it has succesfully ended despite the blue progress bar being less than a third across. As I used it for photo editing I have a lot of other people's photos that I do not want anyone else to get after it's sold.